Metallica – Hardwired to Self Destruct Honors Every Era from Ride The Lightning to Load [Review]


Metallica have released their tenth studio effort ‘Hardwired…To Self-Destruct’ today on November 18, 2016! Check out my review of the 80-plus minute, two-disc metal monster that features something for every Metallica fan from each era. 


‘Spit Out The Bone’ is one of the strongest Metallica songs ever written. Like a fine mix of Ride The Lightning, Master of Puppets and Death Magnetic — the blistering ‘Spit Out The Bone’ is so damn fast, so damn heavy, and so damn good that it’s hard to believe Metallica have been doing this for over 30 years. Hard Wired is as diverse an album as it is jacked up on speed – and this record is hyper-sonic hair-trigger quick… The title track sounds like Metallica was honouring ‘Battery’ while ‘Murder One’ could have fit in nicely on the Black Album or even Re-Load.

I’m a little surprised Metallica didn’t just naturally progress from their previous record ‘Death Magnetic’, which was sonically more in line with ‘And Justice For All’. ‘Hardwired to Self Destruct’ definitely builds upon the epic and lengthy arrangements that James Hetfield, Lars Ulrich, Robert Trujillo and Kirk Hammett were utilising heavily on their ninth album, but this new one feels… different. This is Metallica honouring Metallica and still moving forward at such a breakneck pace that I’m stunned. They shouldn’t be producing such masterful songs this deep into their career but that’s what happened.


The solos are insane, the drums sound better than ever and Hetfield’s singing is stronger than ever before. If there was but one negative, it’s that the album might be a little too overstuffed, especially with the long as hell runtimes for these tracks. Metallica took a page out of Iron Maiden’s book and went all in in creating a lengthy, epic and ‘hard as nails’ tribute to their entire catalog in order to please all of the fans – both old and new. I dig it.


Bonus: Metallica made a music video for every single song off this album. Watch all of them below – in order of the official tracklisting!


Disc One

  1. Hardwired
  2. Atlas, Rise!
  3. Now That We’re Dead
  4. Moth Into Flame
  5. Am I Savage?
  6. Halo On Fire

Disc Two

  1. Confusion
  2. Dream No More
  3. ManUNkind
  4. Here Comes Revenge
  5. Murder One
  6. Spit Out The Bone
  7. Lords of Summer (Bonus Song)


The following two tabs change content below.
Editor-In-Chief of Fox Force Five News. I had a zombie cameo on the opening page of The Walking Dead issue #91, where I was killed with a machete... It was awesome.